top of page

MATANGI / MAYA / M.I.A. documentary

M.I.A. won World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award on the sundance festival :

Drawn from a cache of personal tapes shot by Maya and her closest friends over the last 22 years, MATANGI / MAYA / M.I.A. captures Maya’s remarkable journey from immigrant teenager in London to international popstar M.I.A.

M.I.A. created a mashup, cut-and-paste identity that pulled inspiration from every corner of her journey: a sonic sketchbook that blends Tamil politics, art school punk, hip-hop beats, and the voice of multicultural youth.

Maya kept the camera rolling through her battles with the music industry and mainstream media as her success and fame grew around the world. Filmmaker and longtime friend Stephen Loveridge situates us inside the personal process of one of the most provocative and divisive artists working in music today.

(source : http://www.sundance.org/projects/matangi-maya-m-i-a#/ )

see the teaser below :

bottom of page